posted on Thursday, October 8, 2020

Annual Walk marks 10-year milestone

School Mascot Challenge and Community Walk Mini Grant winners announced

Iowans in all 99 counties helped to mark the 10th anniversary of the Healthiest State Annual Walk, presented by Delta Dental of Iowa, by teaming up to walk for 30 minutes on October 7.

logoThe Healthiest State Annual Walk started in October 2011, when then-Gov. Terry Branstad called on Iowans to take steps to improve their health. Each year since then, a statewide walk has been held on the first Wednesday of October.

“In the past decade, hundreds of thousands of Iowans have participated in the Healthiest State Annual Walk,” said Jeff Russell, president and CEO of Delta Dental of Iowa and chair of the walk committee. “Delta Delta of Iowa is proud to support such a wide-reaching event and is looking forward to the next 10 years!”


Employees at Delta Dental of Iowa show their #TeamUpFor10 spirit!Delta Dental is the Presenting Sponsor of the Healthiest State 10th Annual Walk.

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, those who registered to walk were encouraged to take appropriate safety precautions for their site. Virtual, socially-distant, smaller or household walk were all encouraged.

Throughout October, the Healthiest State Initiative and partner organizations will continue to focus on healthy habits – like walking – by celebrating Healthiest State Month. Activities will focus on the 5-2-1-0 Healthy Choices Count! healthy habits. Learn more here

School Mascot Challenge winner announced

In the weeks leading up to the Healthiest State Annual Walk, the Healthiest State Initiative hosted the School Mascot Challenge on social media. We are excited to announce that our 2020 Mascot Challenge winner is Storm Lake St. Mary’s School! The panthers from St. Mary's will receive $1,000 towards a health and wellness project at their school and community.

Community Walk Mini Grant recipients announced

The Healthiest State Initiative and the Iowa Parks & Recreation Association (IAPRA) partnered to provide mini grant opportunity for IAPRA members to receive funding to support walkability efforts in their community. Winners were announced at the IAPRA Fall Workshop on September 15. Each community will receive a $500: Adel, Decorah, Des Moines and Muscatine.