Healthiest State


The Healthiest State Initiative is supported by dedicated members of the community serving on the board of directors, as well as a team of dedicated and passionate staff.

Meet the Healthiest State Initiative’s staff and Board of Directors:


  • Jami Haberl
    Jami Haberl

    Executive Director

  • Aryn McLaren
    Aryn McLaren

    Double Up Food Bucks Coordinator

  • lauren
    Lauren Kollauf

    Content Marketing Coordinator


  • Jeff Russell
    Jeff Russell

    Board President
    President and Chief Executive Officer, Delta Dental of Iowa    

  • Laura JacksonLaura Jackson

    Board Vice President
    Executive Vice President, Wellmark, Inc. 

  • Kevin Vermeer
    Kevin Vermeer

    Board Treasurer
    President and Chief Executive Officer, UnityPoint Health 

  • Jami Haberl
    Jami Haberl

    Board Secretary
    Executive Director, Iowa Healthiest State Initiative

  • Jay Byers
    Jay Byers

    Chief Executive Officer, Greater Des Moines Partnership

  • Doug Jeske
    Doug Jeske

    President, Meyocks

  • Sheila Laing
    Sheila Laing

    Executive Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer, Hy-Vee, Inc.

  • Jeff Pomeranz
    Jeff Pomeranz

    City Administrator, City of Cedar Rapids 

  • Georgia Van Gundy
    Georgia Van Gundy

    Senior Vice President of Administration & Industry/Government Relations, Hy-Vee,Inc. 

  • Approach

    The Healthiest State Initiative aims to become the healthiest state in the nation by improving the physical, social and emotional well-being of Iowans.

    Learn more

  • Investors

    Our investors don't just invest in the Healthiest State Initiative, they fundamentally understand and support that improving the well-being in Iowa would mean Iowans living happier, healthier lives.

    Learn more

  • About

    Healthiest State Initiative is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization driven by the goal to make Iowa the healthiest state in the nation.

    Learn more